# MONACA BOROUGH January 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2024 – 6:00 pm REORGANIZATION &

# Workshop Meeting

A Reorganization Meeting of the Monaca Borough Town Council was held on the above date & time.

## Oath of Office

At this time, Honorable Mayor John P. Antoline administered the Oath of Office to the following elected Officials.

• William Mitchell- 5<sup>th</sup> Ward Councilman -Christopher Shotter, Jr.- 4<sup>th</sup> Ward Councilman

John Booher, Jr.- 1<sup>st</sup> Ward Councilman
 Patricia Majors- 1<sup>st</sup> Ward Councilperson
 Daniel Coville- 4<sup>th</sup> Ward Councilman

### Flag Salute

The Meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Meeting was then called to order by Mayor John P. Antoline.

# **Roll Call**

Mrs. Majors-present
Mr. Mitchell-present
Mr. J. Wilson-present
Mr. LaPearle-present
Mr. D. Wilson-present
Mr. Booher-present

Mayor Antoline- present

#### **Others**

David L. Kramer, Jr.- present; Rich Urick, Esq.- present

### **Nomination of Council President**

Mayor Antoline opened the floor for nominations of Council President.

Mr. Colville **nominated** <u>John Booher</u>, <u>Jr.</u> as Council President. Mayor Antoline asked two more times for any other nominations. No other nominations were made. Motion carried unanimously. President Booher thanked the board for their continued support and strongly stated he only works if the team works.

### **Nomination of Vice President**

President Booher opened the floor for nominations of Council Vice President.

Mr. Mitchell **nominated** <u>Christopher Shotter</u>, <u>Jr.</u> as Council Vice President. President Booher asked two more times if there were any other nominations for Vice President; at which time no other nominations were made. Motion carried unanimously. VP Shotter thanked the board as well.

#### **Nomination of President Pro-Tem**

President Booher opened the floor for nominations of Council President Pro-Tem.

VP Shotter **nominated** <u>Derek Wilson</u> to hold the position of President Pro-Tem. President Booher asked two more times if there were any other nominations for Pro-Tem; at which time no other nominations were made. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **Other Appointments**

A. Mr. D. Wilson **motioned** to re-appoint Borough Solicitor Richard Urick (McMillen, Urick, Tocci & Jones Law Firm). Second by VP Shotter. Motion carried unanimously. Solicitor Urick was present and said Thank You for the 39<sup>th</sup> time.

- B. VP Shotter **motioned** to re-appoint Borough Engineer Tony Sadaka (Widmer Engineering Inc.). Second by Mr. D. Wilson. Motion carried unanimously.
- C. Mr. LaPearle **motioned** to re-appoint Michael J. Groves (AG Squared Services LLC) as Sewage Enforcement Officer. Second by Mrs. Majors. Motion carried unanimously.
- D. Mr. Colville **motioned** to approve Mary Lou Turbish as Treasurer. Second by Mr. Yothers. Motion carried unanimously.
- E. Mr. J. Wilson **motioned** to approve WesBanco as the Depository Bank. Second by Mr. Mitchell. Motion carried unanimously.
- F. Mrs. Majors **motioned** to re-appoint Mark C. Turnley, CPA as Independent Auditor. Second by Mr. J. Wilson. Motion carried unanimously.
- G. Mr. Colville **motioned** to re-appoint Building Inspector Middle Department Inspection Agency. Second by Mr. J. Wilson. Motion carried unanimously.
- H. Mr. LaPearle **motioned** to re-appoint Jeff McKay as EMA Coordinator. Second by Mr. Colville. Motion carried unanimously.
- I. Mrs. Majors **motioned** to re-appoint Nick Vorrias as Local Health Officer. Second by Mr. Yothers. Motion carried unanimously.
- J. Mr. Mitchell **motioned** to appoint Code/Zoning Enforcement Officer Nick Vorrias. Second by Mr. D. Wilson. Motion carried unanimously.
- K. Mrs. Majors **motioned** to reappoint Mike Brandenburg to the Planning Commission Board at a 4-year term ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2027. Second by Mr. D. Wilson. Motion carried unanimously.
- L. VP Shotter **motioned** to reappoint James Blanarik on the Zoning Hearing Board with a 3-year term ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2026. Second by Mr. J. Wilson. Motion carried unanimously.
- M. Mr. LaPearle **motioned** to reappoint Tom Tusick to the Civil Service Commission Board with a 6-year term ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2029. Second by Mr. Mitchell. Motion carried unanimously.
- N. Mr. Colville **motioned** to reappoint Thomas Ely to the Vacancy Board with a 1-year term ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2024. Second by Mr. Yothers. Motion carried unanimously.
- O. VP Shotter **motioned** to reappoint Judy Scassa to Library Board, with a 2-year term, ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2025. Second by Mrs. Majors. Motion carried unanimously.
- P. Mr. LaPearle **motioned** to reappoint Sarah Davis to Library Board, with a 2-year term, ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2025. Second by Mr. Mitchell. Motion carried unanimously.

### **New Business-**

1. Mrs. Majors **motioned** to appoint Mike Rubino to the Library Board for a 2-year term, ending December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2025. Second by Mr. J. Wilson. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Announcements-</u> Pres Booher read the announcements: Monaca Christmas Tree recycling will begin January 2<sup>ndt</sup> through January 31<sup>st</sup>. Bare trees are to be placed at your curb and will be collected every Monday through January 31<sup>st</sup>, or upon appointment.

**Executive Session:** None

<u>Adjournment:</u> There being no further business, VP Shotter **motioned** to adjourn the meeting at 6:17pm. Second by Mr. Mitchell. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Brittany Bologna